10 Desserts I Could Really Go For Right Now

I am powerless to my sugar addiction.

In a way, it has almost become… unmanageable.

Yesterday I had two heart shaped sugar cookies, a luscious fudge brownie, 3 giant chocolate covered strawberries, and several fondue covered marshmallows. It was Valentine’s day, so I forgive myself, but this addiction is probably something that I need to get under control. It’s like see sugar, eat sugar. Will power is a myth.

In addition to my regular Friday workout, I spent an additional 35 minutes on the elliptical to burn a measly 421 calories, which might have been the equivalent of the 3 strawberries… maybe not even. And every time I get to the point where I can go a day without sweets, it doesn’t take but a few more days (a week at most) before I’m chomping down on coconut long boys and strawberry popsicles again, (just to name a couple of my go-to sweets).

Thank god I don’t keep sweets in the house or I’d be eating them right now. On the other hand, that doesn’t stop me from craving sugar like mad, so let’s talk about 10 desserts I could really go for right now, instead of this Honey Crisp apple I’ve been nibbling at for the last half hour.

sucreeeeeee1.MACARONS

These bad boys right here. The salted caramel macarons  from Sucré are the best in the city in my opinion, probably followed by the Chickory flavor, if you’re into coffee. As an added bonus, they aren’t allowed to sell the broken ones, so if you get a nice cashier, you may get a free sample of a flavor you’ve never tried before. If you don’t happen to be in NOLA, macarons are delicious from most bakeries that sells them anyway, so don’t fret, just enjoy.

nytcookies-8

2.VEGAN CHOCOLATE CHIP COOKIES

For the record, I am severely dairy intolerant. My symptoms range from nausea to acid reflux to laryngitis to involuntary weight loss, depending on how much dairy I eat, how quickly I treat my symptoms, and a host of other variables. It took me a while to get in tune with how my digestive system processes that crap in different situations on any given day. That being said, I try to keep dairy out of my diet completely, with the exception of small amounts of chocolate which I just find to be irresistible, and in small quantities, doesn’t do any harm. Thank god for vegan desserts though, because I can enjoy as many of these divine cookies as my heart desires, courtesy of Whole Foods for me, but I’m sure it could  be fun to make my own someday too. I wonder what they substitute the eggs with….

hot-white-chocolate-su-1873410-l

3. WHITE HOT CHOCOLATE

I know it’s a seasonal beverage, but in my eyes, Winter isn’t over until it’s warm outside! At home, I make this beverage with almond milk. When I go to a coffee shop, I usually do soy. Most places around here don’t do almond milk, but it’s always a very special treat when I find a place that does, because I’ve always thought soy milk tasted a little strange. At any rate, these are delicious and I want one.

macaroons 002

4. COCONUT MACAROONS

I’m not even sure what’s in them, aside from coconut, but they’re just so good. I especially like when they get that chocolate drizzle thing going. It gives them that “Almond Joy/Mounds” vibe. Actually, they should crush up some almonds and put them in the batter. Only good things could come from putting your own spin on a coconut macaroon recipe.

reg_cake

5. KING CAKE

It’s that time of year again. The first Mardi Gras parades have begun, and  all around the city, slice after slice of this stuff is being devoured by New Orleanians and tourists alike. If you’ve never tried it, it’s unlike any cake you’ve ever tasted in your life. It’s more like a super festive cinnamon roll, but somehow, still much more delicious. My favorite king cake bakery is Randazzo’s. They make the best in the city. Generally, one would have to order in advance to obtain one, and they’re slightly more expensive than their grocery store counterparts, but don’t worry. They’re beyond worth it.

enhanced-buzz-25941-1378484884-16

6. NUTELLA-SWIRLED PEANUT BUTTER CHIP BLONDIES

I have made them before and I will make them again. These are super high calorie, so make sure you eat one and be done. Give the rest to your loved ones because your fat stores depend on it.  Or just “treat yo-self”, because you’ve only got one life. It’s what I did. Get the recipe here: http://www.averiecooks.com/2013/08/nutella-swirled-peanut-butter-chip-blondies.html 

crepeeee

7. CREPES

I’m thinking about Nutella now, and when I think about Nutella, I think about crêpes. I am a fan of the banana + strawberry + Nutella variety. There is this one music festival I went to where I tried a Nutella and bacon crêpe. I wasn’t into it, but many of my friends were. I just thought I’d share that just in case it’s something that you’d be interested in trying for yourself. These days people will put anything inside of a skinny pancake and call it a crêpe to be honest. In town, my favorite dessert crêpes are from Crêpes À La Carte. They’re cheap and delicious, the service is good, and the people who work there are very friendly.

meryem-baklava

8. BAKLAVA

Staring at those flaky layers of crêpe on Google reminded me of my favorite Mediterranean dessert, Baklava. I can’t say I’ve ever actually had “bad” baklava. I can say that the best I’ve had was at some hole-in-the-wall hookah bar. I like to eat it layer by layer until I get to the nutty part. Then it’s time to dig in.

dutch

9. WAFFLE COOKIES

Since I seem to be on a roll with these international desserts, why not obsess over one more? These Dutch cookies seem so simple, but actually might be one of the most addictive treats on this list. It’s two crispy waffles with a layer of caramel in the middle. What more could you possible ask for? What’s that -Chocolate? Fortunately, some bakers dip them in that too, you chocoholic.

slutty

10. SLUTTY BROWNIES

The best part about these is that it only takes about two bites before you ask yourself “What am I putting in my body?”, and you realize just how awful of a substance sugar is for your mind, body, and sanity.  If you can eat one in it’s entirety, you just might be the chosen one.  With a layer of chocolate chip cookie dough, Oreos, and brownie mix, just eating one of these is sinful.

