New Year, Nu-tella

dis 1

I’m sitting outside a coffee shoppe in frigid 54 degree weather, typical of a New Orleans winter. I’ve just returned from a glorious vacation and can’t seem to get back into the swing of things. I’ve been staying up ’til three and sleeping in until ten since school let out. It’s not the most productive lifestyle to live, I will admit, but it sure is fun, and I’ve never missed out on much more than breakfast. On the other hand, it’s a New Year, so I feel obligated to make some life changes, even though I’ll only stick with them until I become accustomed to the whole “new year” thing altogether. This should only take about a month or so. I have a February birthday, so by then, all resolutions have long been forgotten…It happens. 

1. only eat one dessert a day. – this sounds super easy, but Nutella on strawberries or bagels at breakfast is so tempting. and my mom really likes cupcakes and gourmet donuts. and my friends and I have a locker at school that we just fill with snacks because we have a late lunch, so it’s only human to get hungry within five hours. Recently, we’ve added nutter butters, and sour punch straws, and those things look reallly good when you’re starving. I’ll have to throw away the combination, and make less frequent trips to coffee shoppes. These gingerbread cake balls are divine, really. 

2. write a song a month. – I don’t really know why I want to do this. I used to write a lot, but ever since I’ve realized that music’s not actually going to be a part of my future, I feel like it’s a waste of time now thanks to school, sports, and things that will actually play a role in my future. I’m just sort of letting the music dream die out, but it’s something I enjoy, so this year, I’m going to make time for it. But what if I go to college and join a band? I feel like deep down inside I’m preparing for something. 

3. read a book – I mean, so far I’ve read books for class, but I want to read a book that isn’t assigned, just for myself. I feel like reading is just a really good thing to do. The benefits of reading are endless. Criminals read books to figure out how to get out of prison, or con people out of their money. or learn how to defend themselves in court, which is pretty impressive, especially for the ones who never even complete high school. (I’ve been watching a lot of Netflix). Reading also helps you understand strange references, and learn more about yourself, and what you like, and what you don’t like, and what kind of people you like. I’ll start with a coffee table book and work my way up to the big guys. I say that now, but only time will tell. 

That’s about it. Have a happy New Year. Hopefully school is a little less hectic this semester and I’ll be able to post! 

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vtsuH3aWaFc

^ Just. a recap of the past 365 days.

