20 Great Names My Children Might Have

410_1target_group_kids_apparel_photography_los_angeles_mike_henry

I frequently think about what I’m going to name my children. I don’t want them to end up with a name like “Sarah” or “Taylor”, where every time they hear it, they’ll turn around and think they’re being spoken to. With a name like Jamie, I’m pretty familiar with this situation, and it’s rather distracting. The only reason I don’t want to change my name now because I feel like it’s a pretty significant part of my identity, though it wouldn’t have hurt for my parents to be a bit more creative. I have a friend who wants to change her name of “Magdalene” as soon as she’s of age. If her parents would have named her something more original, she’d never feel the need to do such a thing. I’m just saying.

Every now and then, I’ll watch a movie, or read a book, and think a character with a very strange name must be so happy their parents have chosen a name so unique, but my friends always tell me, “If you name your child that, they’re going to get punched.” It’s a great possibility, but there are much worse things a person could be teased about. It’s not that I think “Django” is such a beautiful name, it’s just the silent D that intrigues me. Suppose I name my child, Djohn. Every time someone tried to spell his name, he’d say “No no, it starts with a D. It’s silent.” Face palm, I know, but it could be a cool thing.

I once went hiking in the mountains of North Carolina, and one of the tour guides was named Zachary! No, that sentence did not excite me. His parents named him Zachary, but he actually added the exclamation point himself. It’s now been legally changed. Every time he receives a piece of mail, it’s going to say, “To: Zachary!”, and that’s a really uplifting thing.

Here’s the list of the great names my children might have. These are names of many different origins, and while they may not compare to the uniqueness of celebrity names like “Blue, ESPN, Abcde, Apple, etc.”, I think they’re pretty befitting for my children.  Boys first, girls second. I don’t know, would your child punch mine?

  1. Alfie 
  2. Mika 
  3. Nash
  4. Stiles
  5. Alden
  6. Gage 
  7. Embry
  8. Atticus (Finch. Just Kidding.) 
  9. Allistair 
  10. Ellis
  1. Vera
  2. Elsa
  3. Petra
  4. Kara
  5. Frankie
  6. Roux
  7. Alla
  8. Fleur
  9. Foster
  10. Cleo 
