Brave // That Time I Met The Band fun.

Image

Sara Bareilles is one of my absolute favorite singers, but “Brave” at one time, did not meet my expectations. Now, somehow, it’s grown to surpass them.

The first time I heard the song, I pressed play. Then I pressed stop, and I went back to listening to the Once Upon Another Time EP .

But last night, I figured I’d have a look at the music video:

There were these  dance moves that made me cringe, and then there were these dance moves that I tried to imitate. And in that moment,  I felt the song. It made perfect sense. As a person who isn’t very brave at all, this song makes me feel like my fears are a complete waste of time. Besides, how fun is it to belt the chorus?

After a bit of research, I’ve found that this song was written by Sara herself and Jack Antonoff, which is a pleasant surprise because let me tell you, I have a rich history with Jack and his band, fun.;  The first time I saw them in concert,I arrived quite early to ensure that I would be first in line. As it turned out, I was. As it also turned out, rock 92.3 hosted a radio contest, and the prizes were free tickets to the show and a meet-and-greet with the band. I wasn’t the winner, nor did I even participate in the contest. Fortunately for my friend and me, these “winners” never showed, so the woman from the radio station was like, “Hey, you guys want to meet fun.?” We didn’t say anything. We just fainted.

So we met them and all their wonderful glory.  I had a staring contest with Nate Ruess while my friend had one with Jack Antonoff. We then proceeded to take a photograph. They’ll never remember me, but I will always remember them, and I’m at peace with that. If this is all sounding too amazing to be true, it is. The concert was for an audience age 18 and older. I was 15 at the time, and thanks to my big mouth, we didn’t get in to the actual show. Luckily, fun. returned to NOLA a few short months later, and they’re coming back again this coming October, both concerts non-discriminatory based upon age.

So now you know about my love for Jack Antonoff and his band…

Back to this song, Jack feels like it could be a coming-out song. The  lyrics could certainly act as positive motivation for anyone lacking the courage to do that, but really, most of us could stand to be a little more confident and not be afraid to say what needs to be said. As Sara would say, “Let your words be anything but empty.

I just want to say that I’m really glad I gave this song a second chance. Now I’m hooked. If I ever hear it on the radio, I will flip, in a good way of course.

Spread the Bravery.

See you in two days!

