“If You Can’t Do The Math, Then Get Out of The Equation”

math sucks.

A very small part of me holds a semi-genuine appreciation for mathematics. (It’s the only homework I can do with music playing, which makes it a bit more enjoyable than textbook readings…) The problems relax my brain. They put emphasis on something other than the memory muscles most other teachers abuse daily. They get my mind so wound up on getting a correct answer, that I momentarily forget about the everyday stresses of life. Unfortunately, the reasons I dislike mathematics far outweigh the one measly reason I find it tolerable.

I don’t know about you, but I’m awful at mathematics, or more simply put, math. Some even refer to it as “Mental Abuse To Humans”, and let’s face it, it’s true. Far too often, there are times when math becomes incredibly difficult. Even more often than that, there are times where I’d love to solve math problems, but I always find something more entertaining to do. You see, mathematical concepts are discussed in a language more foreign than German to me. The language of mathematics is simply a code used by mathematicians in the real world to describe math concepts beyond symbols on a blackboard. The concepts are impossible to document otherwise. It’s quite similar to sheet music for musicians. Those symbols are the universal code for the art of music. Every sound we hear can be written down in a code. It’s the same way for math, although those codes can be used to describe more than just sounds.

It’s taken me many years, but I’ve finally drawn the conclusion that the math we learn after middle school is merely just another foreign language, and it’s totally useless for the large majority of us. Unfortunately it doesn’t matter how interested I am in learning the material, because understanding the language is imperative for a satisfactory GPA. Being good at math= good grades, good grades=going places, so being good at math=going places.

(^ by the transitive property of equality.)

For this reason, I envy the small minority of us who understand the described concepts;  the geniuses, let’s call them. The future Einsteins, and Issac Newtons. I am not and never will be one of those people, and mathematical concepts will never be simple enough to suit my personal intraparietal sulcus.  As a blogger, I suppose literary English is more my niche, where building outlines is a task equivalent to solving  geometric proofs in the math world…

